Guest Reviews

Write a Review
Anonymous
Reviewed: Jul 8, 2017
Property
Lakeside Living Silky sunsets reflected on a glass lake. A glass of wine and a leisurely spin around the lake on a flat bottomed boat. Out to see the Loons and their babies and the Bald Eagle on one of five islands in the lake. Ducks, frogs, turtles, blue-gills, muskies and wide mouth bass, wood peckers and blue jays dot the property. Every day there is another exciting discovery. On the second dock I walk out into a large area of water lilies and I listen at sunrise for the slap of a fish's tail on the water. At dawn, I sip a cup of coffee in the kitchen looking out towards the woods, a deer and her fawns look back over the grassy lawn and then amble away. This little piece of paradise is as lovely inside the house looking out at nature as it is outside exploring. A contemporary house in a rustic setting, it has all the conveniences of modern living but the privacy and peace of the Northwoods. That said, a large lawn and easy access to the lake made my nieces and nephews happy as they played outside. This house is designed on multiple levels so the teenagers found quiet spots to communicate on the internet with their friends and the younger children were able to explore the yard without too much interference from me as I listened from the kitchen to them at their games. A family of four adults and five children stayed here easily and the rest of my family (up to twenty for some meals) gathered for BBQ suppers. I am very excited about this property and will return again during 2017.
View Property: Wildcat-Lake-Chalet
Anonymous
Reviewed: Jun 30, 2017
Property Manager
Northwoods Home Rental and the Homeowners would like to Thank You very much for the wonderful review! Re: Basement - we hope you (and your teens!) enjoy the new game table, and the 46" flat-screen TV (with Cable and a DVD player). We also added more pots and pans... we greatly appreciate the feedback - Thanks Again!
Property
This was our first experience with a monthly rental, and it was well worth it. Great location on the chain, close to town and bike paths too. The yard is fantastic! We played bags, beersbee, and the dog had a great time! Beds were very comfy, great linens and towels. I can be pretty picky about that stuff, but it was great. Kitchen worked out well, but could use a few more pots and pans. Whether we had 4 or 10 in the house, prepping meals worked out very well with the island. It was nice to enjoy the sunshine in the mornings, while the guys were out fishing. As stated in the description, the dock is a long walk. If you need to charge your boat, make sure you prepare for that. I didn't realize until our last day that the am sun on the dock is plentiful. Swimming off the dock was fun, even the dog got in on the action a few times. There was plenty of space to spread out, which will just get better if there is TV or a table in the basement. We had nowhere to kick to teens :( Having 3 bathrooms was great when we had a full house, and the washer/dryer was a great convenience. There are a few recommendations we passed along to Julie, and since she's a very attentive property manager, I'm sure they will be considered. Local neighbors were very friendly. It's a great quiet location. Being on the channel/river, the boats didn't get beat up when the lakes were choppy or crowded - a big plus! We are presently discussing returning for the same timeframe next year. This stay inspired us to start looking for our own place to purchase. We really loved the experience that much!
View Property: Bay-Hideaway- Monthly
Tammy
Big Bend, US
Reviewed: Mar 11, 2017
Property Manager
Julie is so great to work with. After booking with her over the past several years she knows what we are looking for and always comes through with great places for our group.
Property
This was probably the smallest one so far that we have stayed at but was perfect fit a smaller group and so cozy everyone loved it. !!!
View Property: The Cabin-Monthly
Andrew
Lake Mills, US
Reviewed: Mar 1, 2017
Property Manager
Julie was very helpful.
Property
We enjoyed our stay. Looking forward to next year.
View Property: There-and-Back-Again
Brian
Wayland, US
Reviewed: Feb 14, 2017
Property Manager
It is always wonderful working with you!
Property
Had a great vacation and will plan on seeing you again.
View Property: Sportsmen Getaway
Grzegorz
Franklin Park, US
Reviewed: Jan 25, 2017
Property Manager
Julie was extremely helpful and communicated with me on a daily basis.
Property
This is the 4th time we have stayed at Hemlock Point and we enjoyed it to its fullest. Definitely coming back to this area again.
View Property: Hemlock-Point
Debra
Waunakee, US
Reviewed: Jan 22, 2017
Property Manager
Knowledgeable, quick response time
Property
Great experience, Beautiful property
View Property: White-House
Lisa B
Reviewed: Jan 1, 2017
Property
We had an excellent time in the Northwoods. Plenty of snow mobile access near the home. Also broke out the snowshoes for a nice walk. Loved the house, the view, and it being all new construction. Looking forward to returning in the Spring and again this Summer! Thanks Northwoods for a great stress free stay! Lisa B
View Property: There-and-Back-Again
Anonymous
Reviewed: Dec 1, 2016
Property
I fell in love with the north woods about 10 years ago, but staying here makes it even more special. I have stayed at several different accommodations over the years but this place is the only place I've come back to more than once. The only reason I haven't written a review sooner is I didn't want the whereabouts of my secret little slice of heaven getting out there, but what's fair is fair. This cabin feels tucked away but it is right near everything I love about the area. Boating, fishing, hiking, canoeing, oh heck let's just say all things that mother nature meant for us to take-in outdoors. Not to mention the fantastic snowmobiling, and cross country skiing that I so enjoy. It is a fantastic place to unplug, decompress and take some time to enjoy what's really important. More importantly, my family reconnected and for a least a little while we all really got along. The cabin is very clean and well kept. The beds are super comfortable, not that its hard to fall asleep after soaking in all that fresh air. It feels more like it is my own home rather than a rental property. The owners really seemed to want to make sure that our visits were everything we had hoped for. So there you have it. My secret is out. Enjoy!
View Property: Bay-Hideaway- Monthly
Kate
Madison, WI, US
Reviewed: Aug 16, 2016
Property Manager
Thank you for the wonderful Review: I thought I would let the home owner respond-- We are so pleased that your family fell under the spell of The White House. The house and the surrounding 160 (4/40s) acre parcel have been enjoyed now by five generations of our family. Like your 4 year-old, our kids who are now in college, grew up spending their summers at The White House, as did my generation, visiting Grandpa and Grandma. I am happy to say that some of their original furnishings still occupy the house, though we have worked hard to update it and still maintain the 1907 Farmhouse feel. We love sharing this family treasure with others and do hope that you and yours will continue to make the home part of your family history. We will be working on walking trails around the little lake this fall and spring something to look forward to. Sincerely, the White House Family!
Property
I hesitate to write this review only because I worry that we won't be able to stay at this beautiful house when word gets out at how amazing it is. That said, I can't contain my happiness that we were allowed a week in this piece of paradise. My family and I have been coming up to Presque Isle for a week in the summer for the past thirty years (since I was eleven years old). We have rented at a number of places, but this was our first year in the White House. When I found it online, I worried that my husband would be a little disappointed that he couldn't do much fishing in the pond. When we got there, though, we quickly realized that the beauty of the pond more than made up for the lack of fishing. The privacy and quiet are amazing. And the swans, the heron, the otter and the eagle kept us oohing and ahhing. Plus, he just went over to the big lake when he wanted to fish. The house itself is gorgeous. It is perfectly outfitted and I really never wanted to leave. From the screen porch the beautiful dining room looking over the pond to the gorgeously executed kitchen to the useful mudroom ... Ah, and don't get me started on the bedrooms with their ceiling fans and great big, double-hung windows allowing for sweet night breezes. My family rents other houses in the area during the same week and we gather for dinner at each others' houses each night. No one could stop talking about how wonderful the White House is and I think everyone was trying to plot how they could nab it for next year! Please, please let us keep renting this house for years to come! I really get a little emotional when I think about how our four-year old daughter may be able to grow up getting to come to this beautiful space once a year.
View Property: White-House
Annette
Barrington, IL, United States
Reviewed: Aug 15, 2016
Property
This home is one of my all time favorites! It is gorgeous, spacious, private, luxurious and still feels like the ultimate northwoods home! I've stayed with my family and friends on different occasions and everyone is always comfortable. The kitchen is well appointed as are the bathrooms. Love that there is a washer and dryer, wifi and a tiki bar! I also appreciate that this home is dog friendly. I've always brought my dogs up north and they are safe in this home as it is set far away from busy roads. My kids love to hang out in the room above the garage which leaves the main home to the adults. Book your trip to this home and you will be glad you did as soon as you find yourself relaxing in the wraparound porch enjoying the majestic view! Annette
View Property: Lakeside Lodge - Includes Pontoon
Nana
Reviewed: Aug 14, 2016
Property Manager
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with Northwoods Home Rentals! The homeowner and I greatly appreciate your business and feedback. We strive to provide our guests with the highest level of satisfaction, and are always looking for ways to improve our service. The homeowner and I hope that your trip to the Northwoods was filled with great memories. We hope to see you again soon!
Property
We had a lovely stay. The house was well appointed and comfortable. The swans gave us a lovely visit each morning. The first floor bedroom and bath is great for seniors.
View Property: White-House
Anonymous
Reviewed: Jul 26, 2016
Property
Beautiful setting. Great for families & friends of all ages who love the woods & clean WI waters! We loved our stay in this clean, comfortable log cabin situated on a beautiful secluded property a brief walk to the pier on a quiet bay on the channel- great for fishing, boating, skiing and swimming, The kitchen/living area is open- wonderful for entertaining family and friends while preparing casual meals or enjoying appetizers and drinks at the end of a fun filled day in the Northwoods. The beds are comfortable and having three bathrooms is a bonus for young and old! The basement provides an additional living area, perfect for children, teens or household guests . We were thrilled to be able to see the Northern Lights while we were visiting and we often sat around a campfire listening to guitar music and planning our activities for the following day. We loved taking short day trips to local restaurants, the cranberry bog, biking paths and local stores and shops. We enjoyed attending a water skiing show one late afternoon sponsored by a local ski club. People were so friendly and the BBQ was delicious! While we were there the trees were beginning to turn colors, the days were sunny and warm and the nights were cool. We loved our stay at this rental and have begun planning our upcoming visit this summer.
View Property: Bay-Hideaway- Monthly
DP
Reviewed: Jun 24, 2016
Property Manager
Autumn is a great time to be in the Northwoods. The tamaracks on the pond turn blazing yellow and the young swans learn to fly.
Property
This was a perfect place to stay to relax and yet do some biking and nature walking! We enjoyed watching the wildlife in the morning while having coffee. They have swans on the wetlands just outside the house! There are ducks,geese, and we saw a blue heron! There are bike trails nearby in adjoining towns and if you want a day trip,Lake Superior is just over an hour away! The beds were comfortable. Everything was so clean and organized. We will come again, I hear the fall is a must see time here!
View Property: White-House
Timothy
Reviewed: Feb 6, 2016
Property
Wonderful home, close to lake and trails. Home is always well stocked. We had a great week of snowmobiling again. As always Julie and Joe are great to work with. We will be back again.Tim
View Property: There-and-Back-Again
Daniel
Reviewed: Dec 28, 2015
Property
Hello Julie/Joe & Happy New Year! We stayed at There and Back Again last year over the Christmas/New Year holiday. We just loved the cabin. It was well stocked with everything we needed. We just loved the view from the cabin. The snowmobile trail was just down the road for easy access. We will definitely be staying with Joe & Julie again in the future, as their cabins at Northwoods Home Rentals are always top notch rentals. . Dan
View Property: There-and-Back-Again
Lois
Reviewed: Aug 24, 2015
Property
Our family traveled from Pa., Tx., and Ma. to the Lake House for a family reunion, and we weren't disappointed! We loved the seclusion and peacefulness of the area. We had a wonderful time swimming in the beautiful lake, kayaking and canoeing, and fishing! (the pontoon boat was good for that!) On a chilly day, some of us went horseback riding at a nearby facility. There is ample mealtime seating (GREAT DINING TABLE!!) Nights found us hanging around a campfire,(thanks to the ample supply of firewood!) We are "beach people", but all agreed .. the lake vacation was a wonderful change!!
View Property: Lakeside Lodge - Includes Pontoon
Carolyn D
Reviewed: Jul 18, 2015
Property
Such a homey feeling at this house. Love the old charm with the modern conveniences. And, love watching the wildlife! This home is a real jewel! Thanks for sharing it!
View Property: White-House
Heather
Reviewed: Jun 10, 2015
Property
Our family and another family (total of 10) stayed at this home over this past Labor day holiday. The home is wonderful. Two separate living areas, one upstairs and one downstairs. Plenty of beds for everyone to sleep. It even has a bunk house above the garage (right next to the house) with for more twin beds, two couches, a TV, and a wood burning stove. We could have had a few more people and still had plenty of room. The home was very clean. We rented the pontoon as well and it was absolutely wonderful. The lake is so clear and beautiful. If you are looking for more water sports, than this would be a great spot. There were hardly any other boats on the lake.
View Property: Lakeside Lodge - Includes Pontoon
Bobby
Reviewed: May 28, 2015
Property
I first stayed at the "White House" as a child in the 1950's. The house has been fully renovated since then. The peace and quiet combined with the wind rustling through the pine trees make this a place for total relaxation. The wildlife is endless. At night the milky way is clearly visible for excellent star gazing. Are you a romantic? Then this is the place for you. I particularly enjoy watching the sunset over the private lake while sipping on a cocktail or a fine wine.
View Property: White-House
Nature
Reviewed: Apr 28, 2015
Property
I have been reading Country Living Magazine for a long time. Staying in the White House was like living in the pages of that magazine. It was charming, relaxing, beautiful and functional. The area has a lot to offer if you are into anything outdoorsy and I really enjoyed taking my morning coffee in the canoe while checking out the wildlife on the private pond. The bedrooms are comfortable, there's lots of nice hot water for showers and baths and the kitchen is fully stocked if you want to cook. Loved, loved, loved our stay.
View Property: White-House
David
Reviewed: Apr 4, 2015
Property
Beautiful house & beautiful area. It was a great experience and we thank you for pulling through on short notice. Thanks again and God Bless. Go Badgers!
View Property: White-House
Pineda - Mahony
Reviewed: Aug 5, 2014
Property Manager
Thank you for your fantastic review of our family home. It is so nice to see that 25 years of restoration is bringing peace and joy to others. Come back and visit any time. The swans are incredible to watch. Ive seen them hatch and fledge!
Property
The place was absolutely incredible! Walked in and we were just amazed. The home has beautiful wooden floors, very comfortable settings and a gorgeous view. There is 1 bedroom downstairs. A full bath and a wonderful screened in porch. The upstairs had 2 bedrooms with king size beds that were very comfortable and 1 bedroom with twins. The upstairs bathroom was very spacious with a small shower. Being a foodie and an ex-chef, the kitchen was what I needed to enjoy and help me relax, but was able to barbecue a couple of times while watching a breathtaking sunset. The Bear Restaurant is a stones throw away for one of the best Supper Clubs around. Seeing a pair of swans and their little one was a pleasure every day and they seemed to enjoy us, since they came up to visit on a regular basis. There are ducks, hummingbirds, wild turkeys and even loons flying overhead from time to time. There is wireless internet & satellite TV, but who needs it, it takes away from the peaceful surroundings. We will definitely be returning and would highly recommend to everyone.
View Property: White-House